Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

In the past 22 hours, I have seen Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince twice.The first was in the furor of a midnight showing and the second mere hours ago.

The film brings together the crew from Order of the Phoenix(who will also complete both parts of Deathly Hallows).

The film starts by showing the affect of Voldemort's return on the muggle world, and Harry's experiences in it. While his hitting on a waitress is comical, I felt really awkward at it. Harry is very much disappointed when his date is interrupted by Dumbledore's appearance to take him on a quest.

This is where we are introduced to Professor Slughorn played to perfection by Jim Broadbent. many reviewers have said that WB could earn a supporting actor nomination for Broadbent in this role, and I couldn't agree more. He is delightful and poignant at the same time. (As a side note, I think that the boy who played teenage Tom Riddle should be nominated. He was so creepy, and played the part to absolute perfection).

The trio of Dan Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint have never been better. The larger role for Bonnie Wright as Ginny is a welcome addition as well. The cast isn't lying when they say this is the funniest film yet, it most definitely is. Even though there are a few gags that have been overplayed in trailers, the film has many more laughs to be enjoyed.

Nicholas Hooper follows his brilliant score for Phoenixwith an equally-great score here. The music compliments all of the drama, laughs, and romance perfectly. Director David Yates knows how to work a camera, with amazing angles throughout. From the flight of Death Eaters through London, to a chase in a cornfield.

Michael Gambon and Radcliffe are amazing as Dumbledore and Harry. So much of this story hinges on their relationship, and the duo do not disappoint. Dumbledore's final scenes are as heart-wrenching as the book, and all thanks to Gambon.

There were some qualms. The color palate is incredibly blue throughout, which eventually turns to almost blue-and-white near the end, and is entirely distracting. The reprise of screenwriting from Steve Kloves is an unwelcome addition. The Potter fandom is very outspoken about it's dislike of Kloves's work, and this film only furthers their feelings. Matter-of-fact statements and observations of the obvious plague the film, as do jump cuts that make no sense and much that is not explained. As one who knows this book by heart, I was jarred with the plot of the film.

And the relationships. Many early screenings last year complained about the abundance of relationships, so the filmmakers rectified this. Well, now there is too little. Relationships pop out of thin air and end just as suddenly. Harry's newest relationship is never even confirmed, just by a "He's OK with it" statement by Hermione at the film's end. And the couple of Lupin and Tonks, who do not get together until the end of the book, are apparently together throughout, as Tonks refers to him as "sweetheart" out of the blue.

Overall, this is a great film. Most definitely the best of the Potter films. Like The Lord of the Rings before it, the Potter franchise improves leaps and bounds with each film. At this rate, the last two installments will be incredible. And with the expansion of Best Picture to 10 nominees, this film, while not winning the prize, has a definite shot at a nomination.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is, by far, my favorite film in the series thus far. Ironically, it is my least favorite book.
The direction of the film is extraordinary. David Yates uses pages from the Daily Prophet to further the plot, and it is a breath of fresh air. And ingenious way to add little tidbits that aren’t worthy of their own scenes, but need to be included. The color scheme really fits, and he manages to get the best performances out of our trio to date. I can’t wait to see what he does with Half-Blood Prince.
Dan, Rupert, and Emma really step it up in this film. Emma no longer acts through her eyebrows, and Dan has learned the art of subtlety. While all of Ron’s great comedic bits are cut, he really manages to portray Ron’s hurt due to Harry’s pushing him away.
The newcomers are amazing. Evanna Lynch is the flesh and blood equivalent of Jo Rowling’s words. I don’t think it is possibly to find a better Luna Lovegood. Her kinship with Harry is very well played out, and I adore Lynch after this film. She’s a real kind.
Imelda Staunton is fantastically evil as Umbridge. Perfectly evil. Her “hem-hem”’s are absolutely spot on. You hate her right from the get go, and the scene where the Weasley twins finally give her what she deserves
I won’t lie: this is NOT a movie for Potter purists. The film moves fast and is missing much of what I considered to be the duller points of the book. However, the end is extremely truncated, and it really takes away from the power of it. I was so looking forward to Dan blowing up in Dumbledore’s office, breaking things and truly using all of his acting chops. All but three lines of the prophecy are missing, and everyone hears it.
However, there is far more good. The scenes with Dumbledore’s Army are brilliant. The montage is exactly what that storyline called for and it is used superbly. Harry’s anguish at being labeled a liar is very well played out. You feel sorry for him, not irritated (Jo Rowling came quite close to making me impatient with Harry’s stubbornness in the book). And the fight at the end and the very serious death are handled well (well, I personally had always envisioned the death differently, but the filmmakers did a nice job nonetheless).
The score is brilliant. While John Williams’s scores will always hold a special place, Nicholas Hooper has surpassed my expectations. Especially with his “Possession” them, which put me this close to crying when its scene takes place.
The special effects, also, are top notch, especially the thestrals. They may look like dragons, which isn’t how they are described, but they are beautifully done nonetheless.
The screenplay, finally, was bearable. Michael Goldberg did a fantastic job of keeping what needed to be kept, and getting rid of what needed to go. He kept in the most memorable lines from the book (many work for word) and as a fan, I really appreciated that. I really hope he is coming back for the sixth installment.
But really, the thing that made this film successful in my eyes was this: it made me like the book more than I had originally! I now want to rush and reread the book because the film made me remember that it wasn’t all narrative and irritating subplots. It is a rich story full of emotion and internal turmoil, and this film captured it beautifully. Had I not been there with my sister…I would have cried several times. I fully intend to see this film many more times before it leaves theaters. However, its release signifies a very hard and real fact: all of this will be over in ten days.

Shrek the Third

It's a summer of thirds! And by far the best of the three's is Shrek the Third, staring Mike Myers and Cameron Diaz.

The story is pretty good. Shrek is named king of far Far Away.However, there is another heir to the throne, Arthur, played by Justin Timberlake. The main plot is Shrek, Donkey, and Puss going to find "Artie."

However, Charming is still miffed that he is not married to Fiona and king of the land. He gathers all the fairy tale villains to take over the kingdom and seize their "Happily Ever After"

The film is, as to be expected, visually stunning. It has a running time of a mere hour and a half however, it drags like there is no tomorrow. The film also relies on many of the gimmick of the first two for some easy laughs.

Timberlake is rather good as Artie, the youngster next in line for the throne.After the initial shock of "OMG that's totally JT!" you forget that it is him and get right back into the story.

However, the lively cameo by the great Eric Idle certainly lifts the film.

Overall, a good film to take the kids too. However, prepare for a drawn out time with very few inside jokes for the grown-ups.

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

Well, I was among several to witness an 8 PM showing of the third, and hopefully final, PotC film...

Honestly, I was not impressed. The nearly 3 hour running time drags on, and you feel every minute of it.
There is, really, no plot. At least, no resemblance of a cohesive plot that I could find. I sat there for three hours wondering what in the world was happening. The film relies heavily on old gimmicks, and lack any originality in that department.
The introduction of the pirate lords is a bit silly, as it is only a plot device to secure captainship for someone and to release someone from captivity.
The acting is all swell, but I wasn't really buying any of it. I mean, it wasn't bad, but it couldn't save the movie.
The effects were amazing, and the film shows signs of life during the fight scenes. However, the final battle goes on...and on...and on...and i was wondering if we were still fighting...
The ending is really, to be honest, lame. I can't buy that all of the characters would be ok with it...
The score was much better than DMC. It felt right, blended with the film, and wasn't a distraction like in the second film.

Overall, it wasn't too bad. I wouldn't see it again, but it was alright. Both it and its immediate predecessor, however, do not hold a candel to the original.

Oh, and don't forget to stay after the credits. I did, and apparently I missed something important.

Spider-Man 3

Spider-Man 3....I wanted it to be good. I know going in how the AICN people felt about it...but i went anyway.


I didn't realize that my ticket price translated into a dollar per minute of Venom...

Let's start off with the positive: Pete= hot emo, Venom is deliciously evil, fight scenes= awesome, James Franco...

Everything else: absolutely horrible!
Seriously, emo/evil/whatever he was Spidey was just pathetic. Seriously, Peter Parker has to be the weakest, wimpiest hero ever.

And the PP/MJ thing...I am so over it. It slows down the movie and is so pathetic.

Sandman, I felt, was the absolute wrong choice of villian. You feel bad for his circumstances, but what happens to him is so lame, and such a cop out.

As is the appearance of the symbiote from a meteor...duex ex machina anyone?

James Franco is amazing in this film, despite his lame amnesia...he is so deep and menacing, he's almost as delicious as Venom, and really is the only villain fleshed out.

Bryce Dallas Howard is amazing as Gwen Stacy...even if she is only around for like, 15 minutes. So much could have been done with her.

Venom...what can I say about Venom...I'm not gonna lie, I only went for Venom...and I only got like, 20 minutes. I wanted so much more, and got nothing. So much could have been done...

Which is really the theme of the film: so much could have been with the characters. I would have preferred if the film contained only Sandman and introduced Gwen. Then, have the film end as Venom is born, and have his deliciously, sarcastically, evil self be the focus of film 4.

It feels as if they knew that this would be the last film, and wanted to get everything people loved from the comics into it...thus leaving the viewer feel lost.

This is the first time I think I've recommended not seeing a movie. Honestly, see another movie and see the last 30 minutes of Spidey...it'll be a much better use of your money.

Little Miss Sunshine

I just watched Little Miss Sunshine on DVD, as to not feel like a horrible movie fan and have gone into the Oscar seeing 0 Best Picture Nominees (FYI, The Departed comes out on DVD Feb. 13!).

This was such a cute movie. Fox Searchlight has never let me down, and it kept up its streek. 10 year old Abigail Breslin is sush a treat. She just breaks your heart! Dakota Fanning, movie over! Seriously, I cannot get over how amazing she is in this film.

and Steve Carell? Who know he could pull of serious! He is absolutely marvelous as the suicidal uncle. And where has this Paul Dano been? He is amazing as Dwayne, who is silent until the final 30-ish minutes of the film. Alan Arkin is fabulous as well. Having last seen him in Noel( a film apparently only I saw) this was a real treat. his interactions with Breslin are just amazing.

I don't want to go into plot, because you MUST see this film. It's the dark horse for Best Picture, and with a PGA award, it is a definite contender. Everything is fantastic in this film: direction, cinematography, acting, score-- it's all there. So please, spend some time with Little Miss Sunshine...you won't regret it!

Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan

This afternoon I saw what can only be described as the most horrible, offensive, and hilarious movie ever: Borat. Sacha Baron Cohen wrote and stared in the film about Kazakhi journalist Borat Sagdiyev, who is sent to America to lean about our culture. This one is not for the kiddies.

I know that comic actors are rarely acknowledged by the academy but, I beg them, please take notice of Cohen. He is absolutely brilliant as Borat. First off, almost the entire film is improvised, a daunting challenge. Second, he never break character, not once! And finally, he rings a certain niavity to Borat that makes you understand his horrible behavior, yet still laugh uncontrolably.

There are some...eh hem...scenes of nudity in the film. They are completely disgusting, yet totaly hilarious. This mix is what makes Borat great. You find yourself disgusted by your laughter, but you keep laughing anyways.

Many critics are saying middle America won't get Borat. I must say, in Lafayette, IN, the showing before mine and my showing were backed. And laughing.

Overall, a hilarious film. For those not easiy offended, I definately recomend Borat. High Fiv